Students who achieve high scholastic standing, or who exemplify leadership skills, may be invited to become members of an honor society or honorary.

Alpha Epsilon Rho: National honor society for broadcast students and professionals.

Alpha Eta Rho: Airway science honor society

Alpha Kappa Upsilon Iota: University student union honor society for juniors and seniors who have made outstanding contributions to UNK through the Nebraskan Student Union.

Alpha Mu Gamma: National foreign language honor society for modern language and international students.

Alpha Psi Omega: National theatre honor society for students who have participated in UNK theatre productions..

Beta Beta Beta: Biology honor society that fosters scholarly attainment in the biological sciences.

Delta Omicron: International music honor society that recognizes academic excellence in music performance and study.

Epsilon Pi Tau: National industrial technology honor society for students who excel academically.

Gamma Theta Upsilon: International geography honor society that promotes geography as an academic discipline.

K-Club: Athletic honor society for students who have been awarded a letter in an intercollegiate sport.

Kappa Delta Pi: Education honor society for juniors and seniors.

Kappa Kappa Psi: Marching band honorary for men.

Kappa Mu Epsilon: Mathematics honor society that stimulates interest in mathematics and an appreciation for the power of mathematics.

Kappa Omicron Nu: Family and Consumer Sciences honor society that furthers student development and interest in home economics.

Kappa Pi: Art honor society that is devoted to encouraging high ideals and standards of artwork among UNK students.

Lambda Pi Eta: National Communication Honorary for Speech Communication and Theatre Arts majors, seeks to encourage and reward excellence and leadership in the field of Communication.

Mortar Board: National honorary that recognizes academic and social merit among college seniors.

National Residence Hall Honorary: Recognizes students demonstrating outstanding service and leadership within the residence hall system.

Omicron Delta Epsilon: International economics honor society awarded to students with exceptional achievement in economics.

Omicron Rho Chi: Dance honor society which performs for UNK and the Kearney community.

Order of Omega: Honorary of national merit which recognizes students who attain a high standard of leadership in Greek activities.

Phi Alpha: National social work honor society recognizing students who have attained excellence and scholarship in social work.

Phi Alpha Theta: History honor society for students who have achieved academic excellence in history.

Phi Beta Lambda: Business honor society which enhances the development of business, civic, and leadership skills.

Phi Eta Sigma: Freshman honorary which encourages academic excellence among students through recognition and scholarship awards.

Pi Kappa Delta: Debate and forensics honor society that provides students with opportunities in leadership and communication development.

Psi Chi: Psychology honor society which serves the purpose of encouraging, stimulating, and maintaining excellence in scholarship.

Rho Lambda: Sorority leaders honorary for women who have excelled scholastically and served as outstanding leaders in their respective sororities.

Sigma Tau Delta: English honor society which works to promote excellence among faculty and students within the field of English.

Society for Collegiate Journalists: Journalism honor society which strives to teach ethics, techniques, and mechanics of good communication.

SPURS: Sophomore honorary that provides college and community service.

Tau Beta Sigma: Marching band honorary for women.

Go directly to:

Return to: UNK Home
Return to: 1998-2000 UNK Undergraduate Catalog Table of Contents