Undergraduate degrees at UNK are offered through the four undergraduate colleges: the College of Fine Arts and Humanities, the College of Natural and Social Sciences, the College of Business and Technology, and the College of Education.

The faculty members of the colleges generally determine and govern their programs, including special admission requirements and degree requirements.

Two of these colleges--the College of Fine Arts and Humanities and the College of Natural and Social Sciences--primarily offer degrees in the traditional academic areas.

The other two colleges--the College of Business and Technology and the College of Education--primarily offer professional degree programs. The College of Education has special admission requirements. The following are brief descriptions of the goals and missions of each of the colleges.

College of Fine Arts and Humanities

William Jurma, Dean

The College of Fine Arts and Humanities strives to provide students with a strong liberal arts education through a commitment to strong majors in all of its departments and programs. The College seeks to instill the necessity and the centrality of the artistic and humanistic imagination to all students. It is committed to a strong, talented faculty who believe in the traditional humanities, liberal arts, and fine arts, while also training students in the use of modern technologies.

Five departments: Art and Art History, Communication, English, Modern Languages, and Music and Performing Arts, as well as the Philosophy program and International Studies, comprise the College of Fine Arts and Humanities.

College of Natural and Social Sciences

John La Duke, Dean

The College of Natural and Social Sciences participates fully in the traditional missions of teaching, research, and service. The curriculum provides students with a scientific and humanistic perspective which is necessary for an excellent liberal arts education. Students in the College are encouraged to develop habits of critical thinking, to value academic rigor, to appreciate the complexity and diversity of the human condition and the world around them, and to develop a base of knowledge that will allow them to be successful and responsible members of the community. The College's commitment to excellence in teaching is complemented by its commitment to scholarship. Faculty and students in the College engage in research and other scholarly activities to generate knowledge, to learn and practice their chosen professions, to be current in their disciplines, and to create a stimulating learning environment. The overarching goal of the College is to provide students with the best and most challenging education possible. The College includes the departments of Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science and Information Systems, Criminal Justice and Social Work, History, Mathematics and Statistics, Physics and Physical Science, Political Science, Psychology, and Sociology, Geography and Earth Science, as well as the Health Science Programs.

College of Business and Technology

Timothy Burkink, Dean

The College of Business and Technology serves Nebraska and the surrounding region by preparing students to compete in dynamic professional environments and promoting academic, social and economic development.  The faculty and staff will achieve this mission by:

Within the College of Business and Technology, dedicated faculty members are engaged in teaching, scholarship, and service activities that are particularly concerned with preparing students for successful careers in positions related to their academic majors within a wide range of organizations.

There are six departments in the College: Accounting/Finance, Economics, Family Studies and Interior Design, Industrial Technology, Management, and Marketing and Management Information Systems. There are four service centers in the College: Center for Rural Research and Development, Nebraska Business Development Center, Center for Economic Education, and the Nebraska Safety Center. The College of Business and Technology also hosts UNK's Military Science Program.

College of Education

Ed Scantling, Dean

The College of Education provides programs to prepare educators as well as professionals in the speech pathology, community counseling, sports, fitness, recreation and tourism fields. Programs of study have been developed in consultation with advisory committees to meet state and national standards. The faculty is committed to providing quality instructional programs, serving schools and communities. Professional education programs leading to initial certification are designed to develop each student's knowledge, skills and dispositions related to specific endorsement areas. All programs within the College of Education are committed to preparing morally responsible professionals for a social and political democracy. Our Desired Outcomes for graduates focus on knowledge, skills and dispositions and a commitment to the infusion of technology, diversity and democratic principles.

UNK offers undergraduate programs for the preparation of early childhood, elementary, middle level, secondary, special education and K-12 teachers. Master's degree programs are offered in curriculum and instruction, special education, instructional technology, elementary and secondary administration, speech-language pathology, school counseling and reading. Specialist programs in school psychology and educational administration are also offered.

The College prepares professionals in sports administration, recreation, exercise science, athletic training, and travel and tourism. A Master's degree program is offered in community counseling and in speech language pathology.

There are five departments in the College: Communication Disorders, Counseling & School Psychology; Educational Administration; Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Leisure Studies; and Teacher Education. The KASE office, a student support center for educators, is also part of the College of Education.

21 Apr 2010